The National Insurance Corporation of Tanzania (NIC) (T) was incorporated on 16th October 1963 with Government ownership of fifty one per cent (51%) , while forty nine (49%) was shared by Munich-Re, Swiss-Re and Colin Hood Insursnce Brokers Limited. The Coporation was authorized to transact Life and General Insurance business. After the Arusha Declaration in February, 1967, NIC was..... nationalized and became 100% owned by the government and was the only insurance company in the country for about 30 years up to 1996 when insurance industry was liberalized by the Insurance Act No. 18 of 1996 opening entry of private investors in the insurance sector. The legislation was later repealed by the Insurance Act No. 10 of 2009 which brought in regulation of insurance sector through the Tanzania Insurance Regulatory Authority. ...Read more


To be a distinguished leading provider of quality, profitable, and sustainable insurance services in Tanzania.



To provide demand driven insurance services, through innovative marketing, efficient ICT systems and management of resources.

Core Values

Company Structure

National Insurance Corparation directorates
Independent departments which are headed by Chief Managers
Two independent units which reports directly to the Managing Director

Board of Directors

Mr. Laston Thomas Msongole

- Chairman -

Mr. Adam Basil Mbanga

- Member -

Dr. Judika L. Kingori

- Member -

Dr. Huba M. Nguluma

- Member -

Mr Michael Macharey

- Member -

Senior Management Team

Dr. Elirehema Joshua Doriye

- Managing Director -

Gerson Njavale

- Ag. Director Life Insurance and Pension -

Bunny Ntimba

- Ag. Director of Non Life -

Ms Tunu Shaban

- Ag Director of Finance and Administration -

Doreen Mcha

- Ag. Director of Internal Audit -

Mr Elisante Maleko

- Ag. Director Marketing and Customer Services -

Ms Verdiana Macha

- Chief Legal Counsel -

Furaha Mbwambo

- Ag Chief Accountant -

Mr Michael Mwenda

- Ag Chief Manager ICT -

Mr Petro Mgaya

- Ag Chief Actuarial -

Regional Team

Mr Tibrus Massawe

- Branch Manager Kisutu -
- Dar es salaam -

Hamis Msami

- Branch Manager Dodoma -

Neema Mhauka

- Branch Manager Mbeya -

Mr Francis Mlelwa

- Branch Manager Iringa -

Mr Paul Mkumbo

- Branch Manager Kigoma -

Joyce Mswia

- Branch Manager Songea -

Mr Ruta Kaijage

- Branch Manager Morogoro -

Mr Daudi Kumenya

- Branch Manager Musoma -

Frazina Gwino

- Branch Manager City -
- Dar es salaam -

Veronica Ochaka

- Ag. Branch Manager Life House -
- Dar es salaam -

Mr Segeja Mabula

- Branch Manager Ubungo -
- Dar es salaam -

Mr John Mdenye

- Branch Manager Arusha -

Mr Julius Mazagwa

- Branch Manager Mtwara -

Mr Mashengele Mndeme

- Branch Manager Bukoba -

Mr Abdul Kufakunoga

- Branch Manager Tanga -

Mr Dustan Kapaya

- Branch Manager Singida -

Mr Peter Mitaka

- Ag. Branch Manager Tabora -

Mr Lugano Stanton

- Branch Manager Mwanza -

Beatrice Nagunwa

- Branch Manager Lindi -

Hamis Iddy

- Branch Manager Sumbawanga -

Mr Fred Mgessa

- Branch Manager Shinyanga -

Mr Yusuf Haji

- Branch Manager Zanzibar -

Mr Fortune Mkonyi

- Branch Manager Moshi -